Why I can’t start my WAMP service?

It will be a frustrating problem if one cannot start WAMP server since nothing will appear on Apache error log. When I was dealing with my project with WAMP server, one day I noticed my WAMP server cannot start up. Normally, after clicking on WAMP icon, it will first be red, and then turn brown. At last, it will be green if everything works fine. Mine was stuck onto brown for quite a long time. Two things I have to make sure first. One is to check if my TCP/IP port of 80 was occupied by other applications. To make sure this, I opened my command line window, and input as follows:

  1. –netstat –ano
  2. Get the PID of the process that is taking the TCP/IP port of 80.
    1. Kill the process
    2. Redefine WAMP listening port

#
# Listen: Allows you to bind Apache to specific IP addresses and/or
# ports, instead of the default. See also the <VirtualHost>
# directive.
#
# Change this to Listen on specific IP addresses as shown below to
# prevent Apache from glomming onto all bound IP addresses.
#
#Listen 12.34.56.78:80
Listen 80

But it turned out that no process has occupied the port. Then I started to search if I have invalid file path or directory in httpd.conf file. Then I remembered I used to put my project on a portable hard drive which has changed to another drive letter recently. After I fixed this problem I searched online, this error mostly happens because 80 port was being occupied by some software like skype, but some configuration mistake may also lead to startup failure.

Leave a Reply

